Posted in Halloween Memories

Halloween Memories:Episode 4.

This is the story of last Halloween and the adventures of an anti-social alien attempting to be social. Someone in my class was hosting a Halloween party and I decided that instead of staying home and handing out candy to greedy children like I had done the year before , I would attend the party and throw together a mild costume. I took makeup and created an alien type look and then wore some mismatching, chaotic clothes because logically that’s how people from other planet would dress, right?

So I arrive and am happy to see that all of my friends made it and that It will be okay that I did not bring an emergency book along. I try standing in the basement with the group and talking but this does not end well and I end up outside near the campfire with two of my friends. Something about adding the extra leaves to the fire calms me despite my clear discomfort about the whole situation. It was reassuring to know that it is okay to be an outcast, as the hosts neighbor said taking out his trash. Oh the things you see and hear at parties. Which is one reason I think I have never been to cut out for them.

I ended up watching part of the movie with everyone and then back out by the campfire antisocially. In the end as I was heading home I thought about the night. And I realized I was an alien there, I did not need to put on a costume… Nothing could make me fully belong there. I did have a good time by the campfire laughing with my other anti-social friends but I would never fit in with the basement crew.I learned that I am okay with being different and that it is okay to express who you really are.

-Wishing you the brightest of days, Eva

Me and the pen  we are one; If  it’s ink were to cease to flow  my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

