Posted in song anaylsis

Song Anyalsis : ” Salvatore” By: Lana Del Rey

         This song is one of my all time favorite Lana Del Rey songs and that is always hard for me to say because I love all of Lana’s songs so much I never want to put one of them in a higher rank then any of her others ones. Yet this is one of  those songs of hers that I just adore so much that I am going to say it is almost my favorite song of hers currently: ALMOST BECAUSE I STILL COULD NEVER CHOOSE. I will try not to be to biased with my analysis of this song because I ant you to truly think of it in your own way but please if you re not already a Lana fan or have not heard any of her music just start with this song and then listen to all of the rest of her songs( both released and unreleased). I think you will fall in love not only with her voice and personality but also with the eerie perfection and style of her beautiful lyrics. 

            With this song is particular it appears rather simple and still but trust me when you hear the song being sung you will feel the sweeping air-light love feel and fall in love with this song. Below I have put the lyrics according to A to Z lyrics and in the orange throughout I have populated a few of my thoughts on the song. Enjoy!

“Salvatore”

All the lights in Miami begin to gleam
Ruby, blue and green, neon too
Everything looks better from above my king
Like aqua marine, ocean’s blue

The tone she takes on in this first verse just immediately   sets the mood and hue of the whole song. I always imagine myself in Italy in this song running through the old streets chasing after a hot Italian man. She paints a picture of  romance with her tone and flawless lyrics.

Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Cacciatore
La-da-da-da-da
La-da-da-da-da
Limousines
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ciao amore
La-da-da-da-da
La-da-da-da-da
Soft ice cream

The chorus is so magical. The la da da da  section will just make your eyes slide shut into heaven.

All the lights are sparkling for you it seems
On the downtown scenes, shady blue
Beatboxing and rapping in the summer rain
Like a boss, he sang Jazz and Blues

Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Cacciatore
La-da-da-da-da
La-da-da-da-da
Limousines
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ciao amore
La-da-da-da-da
La-da-da-da-da
Soft ice cream

The summer’s hot
And I’ve been waiting for you all this time
I adore you, can’t you see, you’re meant for me?
Summer’s hot but I’ve been cold without you
I was so wrong not to tell, I’m in regine, tangerine dreams

Catch me if you can
Working on my tan
Salvatore
Dying by the hand
Of a foreign man
Happily
Calling out my name
In the summer rain
Ciao amore
Salvatore can wait
Now it’s time to eat
Soft ice cream

Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Cacciatore
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Limousines
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ciao amore
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah-ah
Soft ice cream

Overall just I’m at a loss for words on how beautiful this song is.

Thank you ( Please let me know any thoughts on this song in the comments below)

-Wishing you the brightest of days, Eva

” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

