Posted in Uncategorized

Rereading children books from my childhood.

          This weekend I read a few books from my childhood including arguably one of the best books ever ” Green eggs and Ham.” I am serious when I say that to, if you have never read ” Green eggs and Ham,” then you must drop reading this post right now, get in your car or mini biplane ,go to your nearest bookstore and buy a copy and read it before reading the rest of this post.I am even thinking of doing  a book review for ” Green eggs and Ham” soon so that we can discuss why tat simple book is one of the staples of any readers life. Today,however, I want to discuss the beauty of returning to the roots of learning to read and why we should all do it often no matter what age group we are currently registered in. Tomorrow I intend to do a follow up post on what some of the most memorable books from my childhood were and why you ought to go back and reread them or if your a newbie to children’s books, read them for the first time.

    When one picks up a book that they have not read since they were eight or that they have not had read to them since they were two they can connect with their youth,learn to see things from a more youthful perspective and develop the habit of trying to see things from more then one point of view at once as well as just enjoy some of the best books ever written and bonus: LOOK AT PICTURES WHILE YOU READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  If none of those things made you excited then I am deeply troubled by your approach to reading and frankly life. Children have a lot to teach us about the world. We may think that we are the ones walking around with a big bag of answers to handout to all of the little ones still ignorant to reality but sometimes it truly is the other way around. By trying to see things from the point of view of a child we may not only have a wonderful time reading about magic school buses or cats that wear really tall Abe Lincoln height type hats but also we may begin to realize things about ourselves,our lives,our world and the power of imagination. As a writer I cannot express to you how truly beautiful and IMPERATIVE this is in the creative process and gentle release of words bottled up within your chaotic mind.

I spent time this weekend reclining in my blanket pit reading Dr.Seuss and Eric Carle among many other authors of books from my childhood. I had a good time… Honestly, I needed that break from growing up. It happen so fast and I needed to look back on who  I once was and where it all started and remind myself that sometimes we all are just little brown bears who see a grown up reality when maybe it really is just a red bird looking back at us.

Thank you( Let me know any thoughts you have about this is the comments below)

-Wishing you the most youthful of days,Eva

” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

