Posted in song anaylsis

Song Analysis: It takes a lot to know a man By: Damien Rice

       This song was not a favorite of mine until two days ago. It has long been a beautiful song to me that I would listen to occasionally but it was one of those songs I did not realize the beauty of until I was ready to learn the message it conveys.First of all Damien Rice is incredibly talented and I have always been a committed listener to his song “Nine Crimes” but with the rest of his music I mostly listen to  it when it fits my mood. Now that I have begun to become more and more attached to many of his other songs as well I am seeing that his talent extends far beyond what I first assumed. At most of his concerts he creates layers for his songs live and creates this really magical effect of creating the music right before your eyes while being the music the whole time. For this song in particular I wanted to share with you the link to a video where he performs it in this style so you can see the beauty of the loops he creates. ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QMQU-4SzDQ )  

        This song overall really strikes a chord with me because of the lyrical simplicity and raw honesty. I think it has become a habit of humans nowadays to believe that love is easy. Falling in love itself may come easy and quick…sweeping us away when we least expect but to handle any kind of relationship is not a smooth road. We have let ourselves believe that love ought to be easy and if it is not easy then it is not love; not meant to be and getting out of that relationship is the only way.This is a detrimental mindset to have because it allows us to destroy relationships that could have lasted a lifetime and spurred on layers of internal happiness simply because we believe something could never work out. It does a take a lot to know a man, it takes a lot to know a woman as well. It takes a lot to make any relationship work and it can be scary, it can make you emotional and it can make you stop and wonder if  it is really worth all of the sacrifice,compromise,commitment and pain… And it is true sometimes it really isn’t with a certain person. But when it is you will be truly willing to step back and learn what it takes to know a man/woman and to understand.

I also have put the lyrics below with more commentary throughout in red.

“It Takes A Lot To Know A Man”

It takes a lot to know a man
It takes a lot to understand
The warrior, the sage
The little boy enragedIt takes a lot to know a woman
A lot to understand what’s humming
The honeybee, the sting
The little girl with wings

It takes a lot to give, to ask for help
To be yourself, to know and love what you live with
It takes a lot to breathe, to touch, to feel
The slow reveal of what another body needs

      So the first two versus of this song start to raise the question in your mind of what is this song getting at. It takes a lot to know a man … It takes a lot to know a woman… Okay, so say more then you get to the chorus and BOOM! Some of the most honest words I have ever heard.Words we all need to remember when we are entering or just settling into any relationship.Not to mention the subtle romantic notion of the last two lines ” It take a lot to breathe,to touch,to feel, the slow reveal of what another body needs.”This concept of being able to communicate not only through words with your partner but also through the secret language of physical actions, to be able to read and to give to your other what they need and to respect and cherish their body using the sexual part of your relationship to kindle a stronger bond between the two of you.

It takes a lot to know a man
A lot to know, to understand
The father and the son
The hunter and the gunIt takes a lot know a woman
A lot to comprehend what’s coming
The mother and the child
The muse and the beguiled

It takes a lot to give, to ask for help
To be yourself, to know and love what you live with
It takes a lot to breathe, to touch, to feel
The slow reveal of what another body needs

It takes a lot to give, to ask for help
To be yourself, to know and love what you live with
It takes a lot to breathe, to touch, to feel
The slow reveal of what another body needs

It takes a lot to live, to ask for help
To be yourself, to know and love what you live with
It takes a lot to breathe, to touch, to feel
The slow reveal of what another body needs

        Another aspect of the chorus that I  adore is ” it takes a lot to ask for help” because it does. Nobody wants to appear that vulnerable, nobody wants to show that they are incapable of doing something on their own: But we are , we all are, it is part of being human. We must learn to admit that we need one another to be more stable in life.If we learn to communicate this and show our weaknesses inevitably it will make us and our relationships stronger. Being vulnerable takes a lot of bravery,guts and determination.

What are you so afraid to lose?
What is it you’re thinking that will happen if you do?
What are you so afraid to lose?
(You wrote me to tell me you’re nervous and you’re sorry)
What is it you’re thinking that will happen if you do?
(Crying like a baby saying “this thing is killing me”)
What are you so afraid to lose?
(You wrote me to tell me you’re nervous and you’re sorry)
What is it you’re thinking that will happen if you do?
(Crying like a baby saying “this thing is killing me”)
You wrote me to tell me you’re nervous and you’re sorry
Crying like a baby saying “this thing is killing me”

       These words that end the song are followed by a very moving instrumental section that allows you to think about the potency of Damien’s words and the effects and applications it might have to you and your life. If you have not heard this song I advise that you do because weather musical you enjoy it or not the lyrics themselves are worthy of being processed in every humans mind.
Thank you ( Let me know any comments you have below)
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Song Analysis: It takes a lot to know a man By: Damien Rice

  1. I understand what you’re saying….it’s beautiful and insightful. I think love is easy…it’s much more noble then the people who fall into it. It makes us a little bit braver…it reminds us to give our all to someone else…it challenges us…and it gives us a place to call home. It is easy, but it causes us to grow. I think the thing that makes it hard is the resistance that the song talks about. Because we are afraid or feel inadequate, we often resist love. Sometimes it can be hard to trust. 🙂 Thank you for sharing this…it was amazing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad that you mentioned the resistance in the song because I had not really thought about it in that way and there is a lot of truth to what you are saying. Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and allowing me to see it in a new light.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

