Posted in song anaylsis

Song Analysis:Chasing Cars By: Snow Patrol

      This song is on a lot of my playlists,one of my favorite songs it never fails to move me.It makes my heart ache for the simplicity of old friendships,dream of a romance someday that would be that natural ,and escape the chaos of life if only for a little while.Below I have shared the lyrics with my comments throughout in green.

“Chasing Cars”

 

We’ll do it all
Everything
On our own

We don’t need
Anything
Or anyone

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

      Forget the spinning and chaos of life and its demands. Sometimes this is really all I want, someone who would run away somewhere desolate with me and just lie there, looking out at the world and just dream away the day and stare at the stars at night. I think I believe there are things I could do on my own … that I really don’t always need people. I think I could just escape this city,be free of the boundaries of my life and lie there with someone I love… Forgetting this world.
I don’t quite know
How to say
How I feel

Those three words
Are said too much
They’re not enough

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

    I love this verse because I feel like we sometimes need to forget the things people tell us. We often dwell on the things we hear people say, unknowingly holding them to a certain standard in our minds but this can be dangerous. We need to learn some things for ourselves and sometimes we just need to focus on living rather than thinking about what people tell us that life is.

Let’s waste time
Chasing cars
Around our heads

I need your grace
To remind me
To find my own

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

All that I am
All that I ever was
Is here in your perfect eyes, they’re all I can see

I don’t know where
Confused about how as well
Just know that these things will never change for us at all

     These last two verses bring me to tears because of the sweetness of them. Yet they aren’t cheesy. They do not feel fabricated, to me this is the simplicity I want to have someday with a person I can call my true love.

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Thank you( Let me know your thoughts on this song in the comments below and also any songs you want me to anaylsis)
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

