Posted in song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis “Superhero” By: Flobots

Flobots created this song after being inspired by the story of a lesbian couple who were faced with the situation of starting a family. They settled on getting fertilization and thought everything was going to turn out perfectly happy. When it came time for her partner to give birth she was not even allowed into the delivery room.The song then goes on to talk about how if she was a superhero she would break free… break  free of the constraints of society and  she would have be there to see her baby get born.

       The second verse goes on to talk about a couple trying to get to America to have there baby in a better hospital and not being let through the checkpoint. The verse concludes with ” But when it comes to populations too disparaged
Gaza’s on the list, right below gay marriage…”

       They speak about how if they were a superhero they would change those that are trying to change them. So this song is not only  dong about birth of new ones but the hope of rebirth of our society. This hope for a world where things like don’t happen.

        I have put the lyrics below for you to read.Please listen to the song as well, it is a beautiful message that needs to be heard.

“Superhero”

We believed in love, when love wasn’t an option
She wanted to give birth, I wanted adoption
After days and days of conversation, we decided to go with fertilization
Then came baby showers and lamaze classes, 2am phone calls, one minute contractions
But then they wisked me away like Brigadoon, no domestic partners in the delivery roomBut if I was a superhero I would break free
Wouldn’t need anyone to come and save me
And you couldn’t make me, feel like I’m crazy
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

And if I was a superhero I would break free
And I wouldn’t be in prison wherever you take me
I would change everyone that’s trying to change me
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

Life in an occupied land is hard, we pushed harder
Soon to be a mom, him to be a father
Boys with guns at the checkpoint and brothel
Wouldn’t let me pass when I said I need a doctor
I don’t know the source of the passport errors
Or how four hours produced a miscarriage
But when it comes to populations too disparaged
Gaza’s on the list, right below gay marriage

But if I was a superhero I would break free
Wouldn’t need anyone to come and save me
And you couldn’t make me, feel like I’m crazy
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

And if I was a superhero I would break free
And I wouldn’t be in prison wherever you take me
I would change everyone who’s trying to change me
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

There’s something on my heart, there’s someone on my mind
I never would have thought that I could be so angry,
but please give me the patience, please give me the patience

There’s something on my heart, there’s someone on my mind
I never would have thought that I could be so angry,
but please give me the patience, please give me the patience

But if I was a superhero I would break free
Wouldn’t need anyone to come and save me
And you couldn’t make me, feel like I’m crazy
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

Yeah if I was a superhero I would break free
And I wouldn’t be in prison wherever you take me
I would change everyone who’s trying to change me
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

Yeah if I was a superhero I would break free
And I wouldn’t be in prison wherever you take me
I would change everyone who’s trying to change me
I would see my baby, I would see my baby

Thank you ( let me know your thoughts in the comments below-

-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva

” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

