Posted in song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis “Old Fashion” By: Ce Lo Green

       The song I have for you today is very different from a lot of the songs I choose to analysis for you but I wanted to bring it and it’s smooth,soulful style to the table.” Old Fashion,” By: Ce Lo Green is a gentle acclamation of love that makes you think of the simplicity in love. Many love songs nowadays I think focus on the complexity of love,the intensity of it or the drama that often is wrapped away among all the kisses. I think those type of love songs can be beautiful as well and there is a lot to be said for there message as well.I also feel like they get a lot more attention then the slower,but just as soulful love songs and that is why I wanted to share with you this song. For those of you who are not big Ce Lo fans, like me, I still think you will enjoy the silky melody of this song.The song even has a bluesy feel to it at moments that gets at the heart of the lyrics,which for your reference I have put below.I have also scattered a few more comments throughout in orange. Enjoy!

“Old Fashioned”

My loves’ old fashioned
But it still works
Just the way it isThis love is classic
And not just simply because
I say it is
It’s right on time (right on time)
And it’s timeless (timeless)
And it’ll be right here, for always

When I think of classic love I imagine the old romance movies in black and white. When I hear those lyrics with the tone of the song that image definitely flows into my mind.

My loves’ old fashioned
So be it, I’m set in my ways
Hush child, just listen
Don’t it sound just like the good old days

Well it’s right on time (right on time)
And it’s timeless (timeless)
And it’ll be right here, for always (always)
My love’s right one time (right on time)
And it’s timeless (timeless)
I’ll be right here for always

Oooo… people they gather round, and they wonder how
Are we in love right here and now
I just smile cause true love doesn’t go out of style
Ooh… right on time, Ooh, yes,
Ooh… on time, ooh timeless
I’ll be here, for always

This ending section is probably my favorite part of the song. The husky sound of Ce Lo’s voice as he rolls off those ooooo’s is spectacular. It adds a little bit of a salty edge to the sweetness and cascading sound of the song.
Overall the song is a wonderful work of art and I suggest you listen to it and share with me your thoughts in the comments below.
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow my ink would cease to flow.”

 

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

