Posted in song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ” Pull me down” By: Mikky Ekko

      a94adc96c40961eda75d859069ad3c92 I first encountered the voice of Mikky Ekko when he was featured in Rihanna’s” Stay,”and it was every since then that stunned by the beauty of his voice I decided to look into his music.The first song of his that I heard was ” Pull me down,” and from their I fell in love and soon had a wide collections of his songs. Mikky Ekko’s talent is so much more than his part in ” Stay” and I believe it is not known well enough. I want to shed some light on the rawness of his lyrics and the sweet-tang of his voice.

          The melody of “Pull me down” almost has a lullaby like quality to it that soothes but also has a very gritty,bold lettered love message with it. In the lyrics below I have placed some more comments in purple that demonstrate what I mean by this.

“Pull Me Down”

Oh I heard you were trouble
And you heard I was trouble
But your name is a wave washing over me
No games just a slave to you totally
Cause I don’t care about what they say about you virgo
And you don’t care about what they say about me virgo
But you know what they say about trouble
        This first opening verse always sends a chill down my spine.I have always been transfixed on this idea of how love can find people even in the most gloomy of places. This idea that even those who are outcasts or weary  eyed trouble makers can still find love. This concept that love survives even in the least expected of places. So when I hear the lyrics speaking about two people who are trouble… these two ,perhaps frowned upon people, I find it beautiful.The the lyrics go on talking about how her name is a wave washing over him.The sheer sweetness of those lyrics stuns me every time. What I would not give to have a man think that way about me.The ending of this verse though is what really ties this whole thought together…But you know what they say about trouble. You know what they say about us, and our relationship… this trouble we are and are apart of, yet we do not care. We love each other and that is all that matters. So this verse ends with a gentle F- U so to speak to any of the haters who just shake their heads and say: They are nothing but trouble.

Pull me down if you want to
and I hope that you want to
Cause I want to be your man
And I wanna say it loud
You can show me where trouble goes
Tell me secrets only trouble knows
Cause you wanna be my girl
And you wanna say it loud

          The chorus speaks about how telling him secrets that only trouble knows. This is perhaps my second favorite lyric of the entire song.This could be referring to multiple things but perhaps it is just used more lightly as a way of saying we could have our own secret,perfect little romance.Pull me down if you want to… also could be hinting at a more physical and sexual part of the relationship but I think of it as more of a” pull me into this romance”, “pull me down a hold me tight forever ,”sort of way.

I want you to know that I’ve got your back
Even when the whole foundation seems cracked
Two punk kids up against the world
Ya trouble, there goes trouble
We could be king and queen of the moonlight
Two young lovers
and when the moods right
you hear me say ‘I want you’

        This verse harbors even more beautiful lyrics.” Two punk kids up against the world,” draws to mind once more the idea of them perhaps being rebellious or more of outcasts. Yet that seems okay because they are together, he has out her back. They rule the night ” king and queen of the moonlight.” May I also just comment on the ending of this verse being so sexy.” I want you…” When you hear it sung, the way he draws out those notes. Damn! Those lyrics are a total eargasm! Not to mention just a spectacular framing of the idea of love between to outcasts. Like in a poem I wrote a while back  I used the phrasing of ” Two outcasts melting into one cast.” Which obviously speaks to a more sexual interaction then just romance but gets at a similar idea.

Pull me down if you want to
and I hope that you want to
Cause I want to be your man
And I wanna say it loud
You can show me where trouble goes
Tell me secrets only trouble knows
Cause you wanna be my girl
And you wanna say it loud
And you wanna say it loud

So pull me down if you want to
and I hope that you want to
Cause I want to be your man
And I wanna say it loud
You can show me where trouble goes
Tell me secrets only trouble knows
Cause you wanna be my girl
And you wanna say it loud
Ohhh and you want to say it loud

I hope that you listen to this song and get to know the wonderfulness of Mikky Ekko’s talent and the range of his voice.I highly advise that you also watch the music video for this song as it is a very well crafted one. I sometimes think music videos can tear the rawness of a song down but I really think in this case it built it up even more.I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below and any suggestions you have for future song analysis.
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

