Posted in pintrest board description, Uncategorized

My ” Dreamland” board on Pinterest.

This board is definitely one of my more criticized boards, and going hand in hand with that criticism is a lot of misunderstanding.For me I decided to create this board because of my fascination with dreams and the idea behind there not really being “a reality.”If you look at how we all perceive the world, differently from one another because we see through the lens of separate,unique minds. If we all see the world differently we all automatically have our own reality that we are trapped in and it is an entirely different universe then that of the person standing right next to us.Dreams concept us with this notion. With dreams we are able to see things in a twisted way. Something like waking up and going to school may seem distorted in dreams by the act of a pink rabbit feeding you with a spoon made of taco shells. In real life that would never happen,right?In my reality that has not happened to me but in my reality I have seen some quite peculiar things by others standards. For instances I believe there are such things as angels, not in the sense many people religiously believe in them, but I have my own belief in the existence of angels. There are many people out there who would question how I believe this and I will tell them I have seen them before. This is when they usually give me and concerned gaze trying to see if I am sane or not and I will just smile until they uncomfortably walk away.To some my reality of angels seem almost like a dream one might have–Everything altered,shifted–slightly disordered–An illusion of the mind is all some would credit that belief to.However, for me it is reality and I am okay with others perceiving a different reality as long as their reality does not disturb mine. This is what I was trying to latch onto with my ‘Dreamland’ board. This idea of the dream world looking so distorted and crazy yet compared to society concept of reality… they really are not quite different. It all is one big illusion based on concepts based on concepts based on concepts that we all conjured up in our minds with the aid of our interactions in one another’s realities–socialization. Yes, somewhere out there we all are–somewhere out there I guess there is one true reality, the way things really are. We can’t possible every know it and I wouldn’t want to anyway. If dreams are a reflection of alternate realities or a mirror image of our reality ,I am thrilled,because in dreams anything is possible and we are given the opportunity to create without consequence.After all… Life, Life is but a dream.

Thank you ( Let me know your thoughts and things people think you strange for thinking in the comments below.)

-Wishing you the dreamiest of days, Eva

” Me and the pen,we are one. If its ink would cease to flow,my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

Eva Monhaut is a sophomore at IUSB, majoring in English, and double minoring in French and Sustainability Studies with a concentration in Creative Writing. She is a member of the French and Sustainability Clubs as well as the IUSB Honor’s Program. She is also President of the English Club. She is an avid reader who also enjoys writing poetry, short stories, and experimenting with different forms of art. She loves cats, coffee, and sparkling water. In her time at IUSB, she hopes to share with others the joys of reading and writing, as well as continue to work on her own writing. After she graduates, she hopes to spend a few years abroad in France then settle down in her tiny house. She has worked with the Pub Hub since its infancy in January of 2018.

Leave a comment