Posted in song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis “Bel Air” By:Lana Del Rey

This sound is one of my favorite Lana songs with it’s light and heavenly melody. It flows like water into your ears. Yet it it juxtaposed with some deeper purple lyrics.The song meaning can be taken many ways yet many speculate that it Lana wrote it about Axl Rose.Lana wanted Axl to feel more open about their relationship but he wanted to keep it concealed.In the song their are many things which not only refer to this conflict about how to present their relationship but also many lyrics that confirm that the song most likely was written abut Axl Rose. In the lyrics below I have commented through  about some of these enchanting lyrics.

“Bel Air”

Gargoyles standing at the front of your gate.
Trying to tell me to wait,
But I can’t wait to see you.So I run like I’m mad to heaven’s door.
I don’t wanna be bad,
I won’t cheat you no more.

  The roses reference could very well be to Axl Rose here.

Roses, Bel Air, take me there,
I’ve been waiting to meet you.
Palm trees in the light,
I can see late at night
Darling, I’m waiting to greet you,
Come to me, baby.

Spotlight, bad baby, you’ve got a flair
For the violentest kind of love anywhere out there

 The song opens with the above lyrics that draw the listener into the vision of Lana, similar to the scene from Tropico in which she sings this song.Then we transition into those darker purple lyrics like, ” You got a flair for the violentest kind of love anywhere out there.”The reference t spotlight could be about both her and Axl Rose being singers. Below we have the reference of ” sweet child of mine”, one of Gun N’ Roses most popular hits.

Mon amour, sweet child of mine,
You’re divine.
Didn’t anyone ever tell you
It’s OK to shine?

 This verse ends with ” Didn’t anyone ever tell you it’s okay to shine.” and to this day those are some of the most chillingly, beautiful words I have ever heard spoken.Once more it could be a more subtle reference to shining in the spotlight.

Roses, Bel Air, take me there,
I’ve been waiting to meet you.
Palm trees in the light,
I can see late at night.
Darling, I’m waiting to greet you,
Come to me, baby.

Don’t be afraid of me, don’t be ashamed.
Walking away from my soft resurrection.
Idol of roses, iconic soul. I know your name.
Lead me to war with your brilliant direction.

The bridge above could be her way of telling him not to be afraid of their relationship, and expressing her desire for them to be more open about the relationship.Once more when she says, ” Idol of roses,iconic soul. I know your name… Lead me to war with your brilliant direction.” She is referring to how he is iconic and Idol or roses is a direct reference to his name, Axl Rose.

Roses, Bel Air, take me there,
I’ve been waiting to meet you.
Palm trees in the light,
I can see late at night.
Darling, I’m waiting to greet you,
Come to me, baby.

Roses, Bel Air, take me there,
I’ve been waiting to meet you.
Grenadine sunshine, can you break this heart of mine.
Darling, I’m waiting to greet you,
Come to me, baby.

Hope you enjoyed the breakdown of the lyrics and if you have not heard the song or any of Lana’s songs go give them a listen. Lana’s voice and lyrics are eerily perfect.

Thank you( Please share your thoughts with me in the comments below)

-Wishing you the brightest of days, Eva

“Me and the pen we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

