Posted in song anaylsis, song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ” Blue Lips” By: Regina Spektor

This is going to be a really hard song for me to come to a conclusion on my own. I can’t wait to read your comments and hopefully gain a  better understanding of it based off of that.Yet, I have a lot to say about this song and there are a lot of different concepts floating around in my mind after every time I hear it. I have always loved Regina’s perfect way of creating odd , simple but deeply emotional lyrics into songs that I want to listen to and I want to understand. Her lyrics never cease to challenge me to think about their meaning and the meaning of my own life. I think there are so many message hidden within her songs and so much to be learned from the winding of the songs.I will put more of my thoughts throughout the lyrics below in blue.

“Blue Lips”

He stumbled into faith and thought,
“God, this is all there is.”
The pictures in his mind arose
And began to breathe
And all the gods and all the worlds
Began colliding on a backdrop of blueBlue lips, blue veins

He took a step but then felt tired
He said, “I’ll rest a little while”
But when he tried to walk again
He wasn’t a child
And all the people hurried fast, real fast
And no one ever smiled

This first two verses make me initially begin to think that this song is about religion and peoples belief.The fact that is says, ” He stumbled into faith,” makes me think of how easily people will believe things weather it is a religion or science even though the song was clearly aimed at religion.Then it continues with this theme of the things you believe coming alive in your mind, manifesting themselves as real. If you believe something it becomes part of your living reality.Then the second verse began to make me think of the more human end of things. How we grow tired so easily, of things, of life, of trying to maintain the reality in our minds without starting to trust that ,maybe, after all, even it is false.We  hurry through our lives, constantly rushing, living life in the fast line, where there is no time for smiles and hugs, rainbows and unicorns, or the gods we once so easily fell into. Our own reality begins to blur away, we grow up , we alter the things we foolishly believed once– Or we don’t and we rush about our lives trying to still believe what we know isn’t real deep down.We grow up to fast, sprinting away from our past, and in the end even the our stumble into faith does not last–but blue does, our humanity,which is real, will always be there.

Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away
Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away

He stumbled into faith and thought,
“God, this is all there is.”
The pictures in his mind arose
And began to breathe

And no one saw and no one heard
They just followed the lead
The pictures in his mind awoke
And began to breed

They started off beneath the knowledge tree
And they chopped it down to make a picket fence
And marching along the railroad tracks
They smiled real wide for the camera lenses
As they made it past the enemy lines
Just to become enslaved in the assembly lines

I think the chorus itself is really just saying that blue is the color of humanity.Then it talks again about how the pictures arose, breathing and now they are multiplying , breeding so we dream on and on and create on and on , our reality, in our minds.More biblical references are made with ” They started off beneath the knowledge tree,” which is clearly a reference to Adam and Eve, the Garden of Eden.I think here it is talking about the evolution of humanity as a species, whereas before it was talking about the individual evolution of people, growing up.We started out with nothing but a tree, then  we created houses, the assembly line took over , we have been through war… This is the history of mankind.

Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away
Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away

Blue, the most human color [3x]
Blue lips, blue veins
Blue, the color of our planet
From far, far away

Overall, I think this song is about the humanity of us all. We all are connected  by the color blue in our veins. And we when die, all our lips will turn blue.
Blue the most  human color.
Thank you ( Please let me know your thoughts in the comments below.)
– Wishing you the most beautiful of days, Eva
” Me and the pen, we are one. If it’s ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Song Analysis ” Blue Lips” By: Regina Spektor

Leave a Reply

