Posted in photographs I love, photography, Uncategorized

Photographs I love:The Human Form.

I have been thinking a lot about culture and the pressure it puts on us to obtain a certain type of “ideal” human form. The first photo I have for you today really made me think more about this, but not really the human form itself but rather the things we do sometime to feel like we are a part of that “ideal” form.

30e7fbf0a2b57402c79f1ba5519f992d

 

The nature of this photograph has a very eerie effect to it almost. It seems human but also very inhuman at the same time. If we think about the beauty constraints society puts on us though , could this photo be more fitting?This photo shows us how when we go to great lengths to try and be something that we are not, from afar it is easy to tell that something very unnatural is going on. In particular with this photo we see the image that appears to be a human hand or foot making the shape of a high heeled shoe.Not that wearing high heels shoes for the love of wearing high heeled shoes alone is bad, or that preferring them over other shoes is bad either. This is just one tiny example of how society causes people to think that they need to wear things or do things to be something that ultimately is quiet unnatural.

44c9e9d0bd640ea21161e585d2b45d20

With the second photo for today we are not looking at anything that is natural versus unnatural but rather an interesting artist take on the human form. This projection onto the back of the woman  is a rather simple scene, something I don’t think many of us would get to excited about seeing as a photograph on its own. However, once it has been projected onto the skin of the lady,a whole new element is added to it.I think though that we can draw one simple message from this and that is that we reflect our world and it reflects us. Our actions outwardly radiate and change the world we live in but those effect in turn radiate inwards towards us and help to reshape and redefine us. In this way I think it can be connected to the first picture. That is how our culture is reflected on us. It has made us want to do unnatural things and sometimes the cost is quite grotesque.We humans no longer appear to always be human.

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva

” Me and the pen,we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

