Posted in song anaylsis, song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis “Hair” By: Lady Gaga

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Recently I have been thinking a lot about identity. I have always been a firm believer in being whoever you are, diversity and uniqueness are wonderful things to embrace. This song hits the nail on the head with those ideas and I thought that it would make a great post for me to do. I have seen many people around me lately really struggling to be themselves especially when it seems they are not allowed to. This song is for those of you out there who feel like you are not yourself, may you not be afraid to be who you are, no mater what the haters say.Below are the lyrics with some more of my thoughts throughout.Enjoy!
“Hair”

Ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, ooh, whoa

Whenever I’m dressed cool
My parents put up a fight
(Uh huh, uh huh)
And if I’m hot shot
Mom will cut my hair at night
(Uh huh, uh huh)

And in the morning
I’m short of my identity
(Uh huh, uh huh)
I scream Mom and Dad
Why can’t I be who I wanna be?
(Uh huh, uh huh)
To be

I just wanna be myself
And I want you to love me for who I am
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to know, I am my hair

I think these simple lyrics are something we can all relate to. we want to be ourselves but our parents can often be the ones getting in the way of this happening.We just want them to love and accept you for who we are. Why can’t we be who we wanna be?

[Chorus:]
I’ve had enough, this is my prayer
That I’ll die livin’ just as free as my hair
I’ve had enough, this is my prayer
That I’ll die livin’ just as free as my hair
I’ve had enough, I’m not a freak
I just keep fightin’ to stay cool on the streets
I’ve had enough, enough, enough
And this is my prayer, I swear
I’m as free as my hair
I’m as free as my hair
I am my hair
I am my hair

[2x:]
Free as my hair, hair, hair
Hair, hair, ha-ha-ha-hair
Hair, hair, hair
Hair, hair, ha-ha-ha-hair

Sometimes I waltz around
Put on red highlights
Just because I want my friends
To think I’m dynamite

And on Friday rock city
High school dance
I got my bangs to hide
That I don’t stand a chance, a chance

I just wanna be myself
And I want you to love me for who I am
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to know, I am my hair

[Chorus]

[2x:]
Free as my hair, hair, hair
Hair, hair, ha-ha-ha-hair
Hair, hair, hair
Hair, hair, ha-ha-ha-hair

I just want to be free, I just want to be me
And I want lots of friends that invite me to their parties
Don’t wanna change, and I don’t wanna be ashamed
I’m the spirit of my hair, it’s all the glory that I bare

I am my hair, I’m my hair
I am my hair, I’m hair
I am my hair, I’m hair
I am my hair, I’m hair
It’s all the glory that I bare

I am my hair, I am my hair
I am a hair, yeah
It’s all the glory that I bare
I am my hair, I am my hair
I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare)
I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare)
I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare)
My hair, yeah, yeah, yeah

[Chorus]

I’m as free as my hair
I’m as free as my hair
I am my hair, I am my hair
Ooh I’m my hair, I’m my hair

The remainder of the song continues to talk about how important it is to let yourself go. Let yourself wear red highlights if that what you want or if you want to have a blue sparkly Mohawk go for it. That is what this is all about.And I think , along with Lady Gaga, that if you are bale to do that in life, you will be okay in the end.

What songs do you want me to do? Let me know in the comments below.

-Wishing you the brightest of days, Eva.

” Me and the pen,we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

