Posted in song anaylsis, song anaylsis, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ” Wicked Games” By:Chris Isaak

Every time I hear this song I am brought to tears, no matter who sings it and the tone of their voice. It is the lyrics themselves and the notes that remind me of the pains of love that we so often forget when we speak of love and romance.Love is in itself not a wicked game, but if often seems like that is what it is compiled of. It often appears to us that the one we love is just jesting back and forth with us, plotting and planning the next move and who will it be who wins in the end? As we walk away from the battlefield accessing our wounds we still  ache to be back in the embrace of the one we love.We still throb for the kiss that stings us and the gentle voice of the one we fear we may lose. It is a lot of back and forth and jut trying to understand somebody so bad because you feel for them a dizzying sort of love that you no longer can imagine living without. It often seems like a wicked game, and sometimes it really is.

“Wicked Games”

The world was on fire and no one could save me but you.
It’s strange what desire will make foolish people do.
I never dreamed that I’d meet somebody like you.
And I never dreamed that I’d lose somebody like you.
When we first fall in love we are struck by the way in an instant it seems somebody we never really saw before is suddenly consuming every part of our minds. Our hearts are ablaze and our minds are spinning. We get that throb in our chests and spiraling ,dancing  spring in our stomachs .We are in love and we never could of imagines that  it would be so. And now, we can’t foresee a life without that person. What was once such a surprise to us only seems natural, and to lose that person or to have things change would be like stealing our whole world away and smashing it into a billion pieces right before our overflowing eyes.
No, I don’t want to fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I don’t want to fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you, with you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)

What a wicked game you play to make me feel this way.
What a wicked thing to do, to let me dream of you.
What a wicked thing to say, you never felt this way.
What a wicked thing to do, to make me dream of you

And I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you.

Yet we want it, we want to be in this confusing state where everyday we wake aching with love for that person and we question why we endure the pain for a person who is only going to tear us apart. We know that perhaps things aren’t going to be happily ever after yet we look them in the eye and whisper ” I love you”. We let ourselves be vulnerable and we don’t worry about what is going to happen until it is to late and everything has slipped away from us. Then, and only then, do we stop and ask ourselves why we ever were foolish enough to have stayed so long when we knew it spelled out such pain for us.

The world was on fire and no one could save me but you.
It’s strange what desire will make foolish people do.
I never dreamed that I’d love somebody like you.
And I never dreamed that I’d lose somebody like you,

No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I wanna fall in love (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
With you (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
No, I… (this girl is only gonna break your heart)
(this girl is only gonna break your heart)

Nobody loves no one.

I don’t really think that last line is true but it may often seem like it is in the face of a great loss.It may seem like after all you were mistaken the whole time. Did they ever really love me? Did I even ever really love them? Yet the pain inside of you lets you know that you did love them and the fact that they are gone does not get you any closer to understanding the first situation.Wicked games…. I wanna fall in love tonight despite them.
Thank you , Let me know your thoughts on this song in the comments below.
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Song Analysis ” Wicked Games” By:Chris Isaak

  1. Thank you for your touching analysis and thoughts about Wicked Game.
    I also cry every time I hear that song, although I’ve only ever heard Chris Isaak’s version. It’s one of the saddest and most beautiful songs I’ve ever heard in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

