Posted in Uncategorized

Song Analysis “E.T.” By: Katy Perry

I remember when this song was played on the radio so much that I started to completely hate it. Now, it is one of those songs of the past that are just played very rarely on some stations. I wanted to go this route though and try doing a song analysis of a song that not only is older but also was really popular, and fits the definition of modern pop music very closely. I can’t possible dig out some deep meaning from this song, right? I know I might not be able to do that but by choosing this song hopefully I am getting back to the roots of why I started doing these in the first place. To listen to music more closely, hear the message but also just enjoy it for what it is, music that hits the ear either beautifully or not.That is why I like these because I am well aware that every song out there is open to many different interpretations and I give you mine and hope to hear from you in the comments about your input. This is just a different type of song compared to a lot of songs I do but I am hoping that this will remind you of what this segment is really all about.

E.T. By:Katy Perry

You’re so hypnotizing
Could you be the devil?
Could you be an angel?

Your touch magnetizing
Feels like I am floating
Leaves my body glowing

This disoriented feeling when you are  in love. When you are not really sure what is going on, all you know is you feel outside of yourself. Like perhaps you are  floating or glowing. Is this what it means to be in love or is this just some odd law of attraction?I think these are things we need to think about in life because when we do find ourselves in this situation and we have big decisions to make we need to understand why we are making them.I have surely had that floating feeling before but I don’t think it was due to love. This song really doesn’t seem to be about a deep love but could it perhaps be taken that way?That would surely be a more romantic interpretation of this song.

They say, be afraid
You’re not like the others
Futuristic lover
Different DNA
They don’t understand you

[Pre-Chorus]
You’re from a whole ‘nother world
A different dimension
You open my eyes
And I’m ready to go
Lead me into the light

Kiss me, ki-ki-kiss me
Infect me with your love and
Fill me with your poison

Take me, ta-ta-take me
Wanna be a victim
Ready for abduction

Boy, you’re an alien
Your touch so foreign
It’s supernatural
Extraterrestrial

I think to some extent this chorus is quite relate-able. Whenever we fall in love everything around us becomes really different from what it seemed before. With those rose tinted glasses one everything is truly alien.Yet, we crave that ” whole another world,” it’s new it scares us a little yet we want to be fully apart of it.

[Verse 2]
You’re so supersonic
Wanna feel your powers
Stun me with your lasers
Your kiss is cosmic
Every move is magic

[Pre-Chorus]
You’re from a whole ‘nother world
A different dimension
You open my eyes
And I’m ready to go
Lead me into the light

[Chorus]
Kiss me, ki-ki-kiss me
Infect me with your love and
Fill me with your poison

Take me, ta-ta-take me
Wanna be a victim
Ready for abduction

Boy, you’re an alien
Your touch so foreign
It’s supernatural
Extraterrestrial

[Bridge]
This is transcendental
On another level
Boy, you’re my lucky star

I wanna walk on your wave length
And be there when you vibrate
For you I’ll risk it all
All

I get how this is clearly some alienist reference and now wave lengths in the sense I think of them, as  auras but I still think it is quite interesting the terminology she uses here.” I wanna walk on your wave length.” I want to be with you. I want to understand you and be there for us. This love may be alien to me, but I don’t want to be.It all is a very interesting  way of thinking of love, does it work?

[Chorus]
Kiss me, ki-ki-kiss me
Infect me with your love and
Fill me with your poison

Take me, ta-ta-take me
Wanna be a victim
Ready for abduction

Boy, you’re an alien
Your touch so foreign
It’s supernatural
Extraterrestrial

Extraterrestrial
Extraterrestrial

Boy, you’re an alien
Your touch so foreign
It’s supernatural
Extraterrestrial

Thank you as always for reading and sharing your thoughts with me in the comments below.
-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva
” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

 

 

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

