Posted in life, song anaylsis, songs, thoughts, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ” Stressed Out.” By: Twenty One Pilots

I think most of us who listen to the radio even occasionally have heard this song and if we listen even slightly to the lyrics we understand its’ message, therefore there is not much analysis needed. I still wanted to do a post on this song even if it ended up being more of a review or overview than an analysis.I think many of us enjoy this song because of its’ unique rhythm and sound which stands out against some other modern songs. I admit that when I first heard this song that was what intrigued me about it. Yet, I am one of those musical people who eventually tunes my ears to listen to the message as well. You don’t have to be one of those people, I just have found a greater and deeper appreciation for music as a poetic form, even though I have no musical talent, through listening to songs while absorbing the message as well.It was once I really listened to the song closely that this has become one of my new favorite songs because I am at that age where this is all too relatable.I think that for anyone except young children this song is in some way describing the state we are in often. The state of looking back on our youth and wishing to flee back to it.Let’s look at the lyrics and talk about it further.

 

Stressed Out  By: Twenty One Pilots

By: Twenty One Pilots

I wish I found some better sounds no one’s ever heard,                                                                     I wish I had a better voice that sang some better words,                                                                   I wish I found some chords in an order that is new,                                                                           I wish I didn’t have to rhyme every time I sang,
I was told when I get older all my fears would shrink,
But now I’m insecure and I care what people think.

My name’s ‘Blurryface’ and I care what you think.
My name’s ‘Blurryface’ and I care what you think.

Though we are not all singers and musicians who are battling with the constant struggle of putting forth good music that we love and that others want to listen to as well, we all have this level of stress to some extent. With me, I am starting to put my writing forth a lot more. First and for most, on this blog ,I have at last begun to share my own poetic works. Yet, there is the constant worries of never reaching the right people or leaving an impact like I dream of. I am afraid that what I write will never strike something in my readers like so many of the great things I have read in my life. It stresses me out because I know that is my dream and my lifeblood and all I can really foresee myself dedicating my life to. Fear takes hold of me though because I fear I will fail and never get my footing. I try to be strong in the face of it all but there is always that nagging at the back of my mind telling me that I will never make it. I push it aside but I still am human and I still get stressed out.It would seem easier already knowing what I want to do with my life but this is a false assumption. If I had n o idea it would be better to stumble because I was still trying to find my path. Now, when I know where I want to go I fear if I stumble I will only appear a greater fool. This wasn’t a problem when I was younger but ,like the song states, ” now I’m insecure and I care what people think.” Even I who am pretty indifferent to the laughs and snares of others still get insecure and I still care about the things that people think.I am not trying to create the newest sounds in music but I am still battling letting my creativity fly and letting my work be something that others want as well. And for any of us, whatever we are dedicated to, the eyes of others seem to always be upon us, and that is stressful.

Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.
Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.

We’re stressed out.

Sometimes a certain smell will take me back to when I was young,
How come I’m never able to identify where it’s coming from,
I’d make a candle out of it if I ever found it,
Try to sell it, never sell out of it, I’d probably only sell one,

It’d be to my brother, ’cause we have the same nose,
Same clothes homegrown a stone’s throw from a creek we used to roam,
But it would remind us of when nothing really mattered,
Out of student loans and treehouse homes we all would take the latter.

I cannot express how hearing this stanza always makes me wanna cry deep down and smile at the same time. I know exactly what he is talking about with that certain smell taking you back. This happens to me at times too. A random smell out of nowhere will float into my nose and lift me away back to when I was a child. And it warms you to. Sometimes I think that I can pinpoint what it is but it seems I never can. It was something so insignificant at the time I  first smelled it that I let its’ fragrance slip away from me. Now, perhaps fifteen or even seventeen years later, it hits me and I know that it is the smell of carefree youth.I have the same sentiments as the singer does. If I could I would make a candle and I would probably only sell one to my sisters or brothers. And though we never really had a creek we liked to roam, there are still plenty of little nooks that when I come across them I am reminded of the old me. I really miss that old me sometimes, just as I miss those places. And sometimes I go to those little nooks just for nostalgia’s sake.
My name’s ‘Blurryface’ and I care what you think.
My name’s ‘Blurryface’ and I care what you think.

Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.
Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.

We used to play pretend, give each other different names,
We would build a rocket ship and then we’d fly it far away,
Used to dream of outer space but now they’re laughing at our face,
Saying, “Wake up, you need to make money.”
Yo.

We used to play pretend, give each other different names,
We would build a rocket ship and then we’d fly it far away,
Used to dream of outer space but now they’re laughing at our face,
Saying, “Wake up, you need to make money.”
Yo.

Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.
Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days,
When our momma sang us to sleep but now we’re stressed out.

Used to play pretend, used to play pretend, bunny
We used to play pretend, wake up, you need the money
Used to play pretend, used to play pretend, bunny
We used to play pretend, wake up, you need the money
We used to play pretend, give each other different names,
We would build a rocket ship and then we’d fly it far away,
Used to dream of outer space but now they’re laughing at our face,
Saying, “Wake up, you need to make money.”
Yo.

I just wanted to make a few ending comments about these versus and the overall message. I think my deep awe for outer space that I still have stems more deeply from my youthful character than I think.Sure, I am allured by outer space for the quiet and tranquility it promises but I also believe that part of me just wants to be a kid exploring and [pushing the limits of logic and reason.I don’t really think we ought to work for money because I think money really is a made up thing we don’t need. I want to do a post on that soon so if you are wonder more about my thoughts behind that just wait I am working on it.Yet, even I have dreams I want to fulfill and I know to get to those dreams with the way society is set up today I am going to need to at least make a little money. So I work and I try and work hard.  Still ,some nights ,if you look outside your window close enough in the night sky, you might just see a little rocketship blazing across the sky. I’m still on that ship and even as I age and life becomes more of an obstacle course, I don’t think I am going to disembark. I like the view from up here.

-Wishing you the brightest of days, Eva

Thanks for reading and let me know your thoughts on this song and my thoughts in the comments below. Also, looking for some songs you would like me to listen to and give you my input on. If you have any comment below on that as well. Thanks.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

 

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Song Analysis ” Stressed Out.” By: Twenty One Pilots

  1. Hi Eva, if you have a calling and a gift to be a writer, then ultimately following that calling and growing that gift is what will give you happiness and satisfaction. The praise of others will never satisfy you for long. Keep it up! You are doing well! I will have to go and listen to that song now. Love, Aunt Lois

    Like

  2. Wow, I love this! I’m always interested to see how other people view music/songs (especially ones that I like myself). Would love to read some more of these song-analyses. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing those thoughts. I as well love hearing how others think of differnt songs. If you are newer to my blog i have done many song anaylses and am always willignly to listen and review any songs you are intrested in just comment on any of the song analysis posts.thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

