Posted in book, book review, books, Uncategorized

Book Review ” The Paris Key” By: Juliet Blackwell

I am already in love with Paris and I have never been lucky enough to have the chance of going. It is not only through the movies and talk of the city of lights that I have fallen in love with France, but also through the vivid and enchanting encounters I have had with it through books. Mostly, I think I crave the pace and the rhythm that is has to offer. I can relate to both Genevieve and Angela, the book’s two main characters, in this way.This book, which gets a six from me, is  a haunting tale of family, love, loss and renewal.There are ghosts within its pages, that are carried around in the hearts and minds of the characters and remind us all that we too are brimming with the past–the unknown–and a desire to solve the mysteries of life.Locked away, these mysteries burn at our hearts, and it is not until we find the key, that we can release them and in doing so, release ourselves.I am a big believer in the fact that the place one lives does a lot to either constrict or free them. Home is never a place but rather a feeling and the essence of the air around one found in places but beating to the same rhythm as the heart.Some of us grow up and find that we never really could call that place home… we never felt the surge of belonging in its midst. Others, find ourselves lucky to know that where we spent such a long part of our lives is truly our home. I know this much is true for me. Where I grew up, is and always will be my home, but I know also that perhaps someday I will come across a place and a culture that fits me even better, maybe even the countryside of France.Reading this book I thought about this even deeper, the sense of belonging and peace that settled into both Genevieve’s and Angela’s bones as they walked the quaint streets of small town life in France.Blackwell paints a perfect picture of finding one’s true home, and finding true love all at once, and the hardships, heartbreak and letting go that often come with the journey.A wonderful and breezy summer read. Let me know your thoughts on the book in the comments below.And thank you as always for reading and sharing.

-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

