Posted in book, book review, books, Uncategorized

Book Review ‘ The Phantom Tollbooth’ By: Norton Juster

I have been waiting to do this book review since  picking it up and reading it in two days. Unfortunately, I  have been really busy ,but now that I have the time I am going to rant extensively about how I ought to have read this book long ago. If you are like me , and think that Alice in Wonderland  is one of the best books ever written then you also need to read this book if you haven’t already.Juster  writes a story which appears to be a childhood tale of going on a great adventure but instead is brimming with wisdom for all ages.

If something is there, you can only see it with your eyes open, but if it isn’t there, you can see it just as well with your eyes closed. That’s why imaginary things are often easier to see than real ones.

‘The Phantom Tollbooth’ , teaches us the beauty of language, learning and the wonderful world of words. When we say, for example, that we jump to conclusion in this book that is a literal island where one goes and they get there by jumping. It all comes to together with visualize and words holding two meanings. I could say more. I could go on all day about all of the little phrases and play on words that I loved. I could not do it justice though , no matter how much I wrote. Therefore, I think it would just be best if you read it for yourself.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below about my post,this book and/or any books you would like me to read and review.

-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Book Review ‘ The Phantom Tollbooth’ By: Norton Juster

  1. The Phantom Tollbooth is one of those great examples of the right book finding you at the right time. I was in elementary school and my best friend was the school librarian. I was in fourth grade and devouring books. Nothing was quite catching though. I was beginning to lose interest and enjoyment. Then she brought this book to me. I remember when Milo meets the ‘ordinary man’ pretending to be four extraordinary people. One of my favorite moments of perspective and context. Such a great read and I’m glad you enjoyed it as well and have shared it for so many others to discover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

