Posted in book, book review, books, Uncategorized

Book Review ‘ Looking for Alaska’ By: John Green

It was at least four years ago that my cousin told me that she thought I ought to read this book so I added it to my to read list and it wasn’t until the other day that I have finally got around to reading it. At first, the book felt slow and flat to me so I ended up tentatively trying to find a way to let her know I wasn’t really into the book. In the end, though, that would not be necessary because I loved it by the time I got to the last page. That being said, it did take me over half of the book to start enjoying the story. What won me over in the end was the emotion and the depth that we learned from Alaska not only when she was alive, but spoiler alert for those who have not read it, also when she was dead. For me Alaska represented rebellion and wisdom all at once. I found that I was drawn to Alaska just as Pudge found himself hooked from the moment he first laid eyes upon her.Though i can not claim to understand all of Green’s intentions when writing this book, I like to believe that he could sum it up in this passage from the book:

‘ Everything that comes together falls apart,’ The Old Man said. ‘Everything.The chair I am sitting on. It was built, and so it will fall apart.I’m going to fall apart, probably before this chair.And you are going to fall apart. The cells and organs and systems that make you-they came together, grew together, and so must fall apart.The Buddha knew one thing that science did not prove until millenia after his death: Entropy increases. Things fall apart.’

Perhaps, that is the greater message that we ought to take away from Alaska. Things fall apart.

Let me know in the comments below your thought on my reivew and this book.

-Wishing you the brightest of days,Eva

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

