Posted in song anaylsis, songs, thoughts, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ‘ Nothing’s going to hurt you baby’ By: Cigarettes After Sex.

I want you to first listen to this song once through  before reading any further and then read through the lyrics while listening to it again and let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

I fell in love with the  subdued tone of this song and the electronic, instrumental aspect contrasting the calm, deepness of the vocalist.

 

Nothing’s going to hurt you baby

Whispered something in your ear
It was a perverted thing to say
But I said it anyway
Made you smile and look away

Nothing’s gonna hurt you baby
As long as you’re with me, you’ll be just fine
Nothing’s gonna hurt you baby
Nothing’s gonna take you from my side

When we dance in my living room
To that silly ’90s R&B
When we have a drink or three
Always ends in a hazy shower scene

Nothing’s gonna hurt you baby
As long as you’re with me, you’ll be just fine
Nothing’s gonna hurt you baby
Nothing’s gonna take you from my side

When we laugh into the microphone and sing
With our sunglasses on, to our favorite songs

When we’re laughing in the microphone and singing
With our sunglasses on, to our favorite songs

Nothing’s gonna hurt you baby
Nothing’s gonna take you from my side

There is not much to say about these lyrics because, for the most part, they speak for themselves, of a carefree type of love where they can sing together and laugh but also of a passionate love ending in ” hazy shower scenes.”This is the type of romance scene in movies and I sort of get this visual of this couple listening to this song, it has that cinematic quality to it in my opinion.
Thank you for reading as always, and sharing your thoughts.
-Eva M.M.
” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”
Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

