Posted in Poems, Uncategorized

Identity(11.9.16)

The cold of the porcelain tub

welcomed me to a darker place

where shadows sung and

all that I felt was the echo of the clock,

a blade against the waves of my auburn locks.

       “You are not who you said you were.”

I still hear him growl out,

standing in the dust of my drive.

                      “I lied. I am sorry. But I had to.”

I wanted to say but could not.

Now those words sink under the surface of my skin

bloating my heart from within.

I gasp for air

as another strand of hair

f

a

l

l

s.

         “How could you lie to me?”

He demands, the paleness of where he grasped my arm

now melanized in the passing of time.

                   “How could I lie to myself?”

The thought I fear to voice,

that after all ,half of life is just lying…

with my body flattened against that gelidity,

I forgot my true identity.

Like a feather

weightless

I rose

stepping out of that grave

and I left auburn behind,

the only sign of me.

“I will find you. I will turn you in. And you will suffer” He said to me.

“All things in their time.”

“ Farwell myself.”

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts in the comments below.

“Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

