Posted in Poems, Uncategorized

Mundane 2

I want to cry,

to know that it can be forgotten,

this drudgery that has become reality.

The dull pulse of the everyday

which has swallowed me,

as I to must swallow it,

choke down this sour world,

my gullet so full of grief

for the adventure that I could have lived

and the dreams that could have manifested themselves.

Weary,

I wobble in these half way through the school year shoes,

I just want something substantial to stand upon

instead of this worn out carpet

and day after day doldrums of speech.

Soon I will move on

to greater things

to new things

to things that may be lost to these same patterns,

nothing out of the ordinary in this world

but outside my world flutters the extraordinary.

If only I were granted a glance

into that endless expanse of trees and birds and words.

Confined.

I feel so trapped.

Dizzy.

I feel their voices swirl inside of me,

echoes of what they really meant to say.

Why do we always hide behind the small talk of weather and work,

why are all the important things we have to say

just ephemeral laughter and sharp sarcasm,

fragments of what I have always thought about this world.

Nobody says anything truly poignant

except in the back-roads of their minds.

I can’t bring myself to partake of their conversation and chitter-chatter,

I curl away from it all,

in little puddles of exhaustion and tears.

-Eva M.M.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

