Posted in book, books, thoughts

Books I read: 2016.

Before I list off all of the books I read this year, I wanted to say a few quick things.I find it interesting to look back on all that I have read this year and see how much of it was influenced by those around me. Many of the books on this list are books people suggested that I read or that I was told I should read based on others books I had already read on Goodreads.Many of these books are books that I might not have enjoyed two or three years ago and it is odd to think how time can do that to one, tweak, alter and fine tune one’s taste in books. Yet, I have found with books I have reread many years apart that a book that one finds to truly speak to them never goes silent but instead whispers new things into their ear every time they turn its pages.Many of the things that I have read this year are just a shadow of all of the thoughts whirling around in my mind.It is also very intriguing to think about how my how writing, life, and actions would be different if I had not read the things I have read and instead and read entirely different things. I am well pleased with the books that I read this year, even when I did not always end up enjoying a book as I thought I would. These books greatly influenced me, made me think, made me laugh and cry and inspired me to think about our world in different ways: That is the power of books.Therefore, in no particular order, here are all of the books that I can remember reading this year….

  1. Harry Potter ( All the Books) By : J.K. Rowling
  2. The Paris Key  By: Juliet Blackwell
  3. Child of God By: Cormac McCarthy
  4. The Universal Donor By: Craig Nova
  5. Twelve years a slave By: Solomon Northup
  6. Things fall apart By : Chinua Achebe
  7. The tenth circle By : Jodi Picoult
  8. A criminal magic By : Lee Kelly
  9. When I forgot By: Elina Hirvonen
  10. The pieces we keep By: Kristina McMorris
  11. Safe Haven By: Nicholas Sparks
  12. The Opposite of me By: Sarah Pekkanen
  13. Zoo By: James Patterson
  14. Tilt By: Ellen Hopkins
  15. The Clan of the Cave Bear By: Jean M.Auel
  16. Night Circus By: Erin Morgenstern
  17. See me By: Nicholas Sparks
  18. Don’t Breathe a word By: Jennifer McMahon
  19. Life of Pi By: Yann Martel
  20. I know this much is true By: Wally Lamb
  21. The Covenant By: James A. Michener
  22. The Will to power By: Friedrich  Nietzsche
  23. Riding the bus with my sister By: Rachel Simon
  24. A dose of murder  By: Lori Avocato
  25. A spool of blue thread By: Anne Tyler
  26. The unloved By: Deborah Levy
  27. Looking for Alaska By: John Green
  28. Macbeth By: Shakespeare
  29. The Phantom Tollbooth By: Norton Juster
  30. Treatise on law By: St.Thomas Aquinas
  31. BreakAway By: Kat Spears
  32. Flight of the doves By: Walter Macken
  33. Mudwoman By: Joyce Carol Oates
  34. Mountains Beyond Mountains By: Tracy Kidder
  35. The Social Contract By: Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  36. Second Treatise on government By: John Locke
  37. The monk who sold his Ferrari By: Robin B.Sharma
  38. The first rule of swimming By : Courtney Angela Brkic
  39. The Paying guests By : Sarah Waters
  40. Inferno By: Dante
  41. On Liberty and the Subjugation of Women  By: John Stuart Mill

 

Which of these books that I read this year have you read before? Which are on your to read list? Thoughts on my reading choices? Any suggestions on what to read in 2017? Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts.

-Eva M.M.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

