Posted in Poems, thoughts

This Clock (5.18.15)

Before I get into today’s post, I wanted to say something really quick about why I decided to share this with you. I realised that all of the poems I share with you are current poems and that I have not shown you anything from years ago. One day I might show you something from when I first started to write like when I was twelve or thirteen, but all I have for you today is from 2015 so not really that old, just a sweet sixteen. I do think though that I can still see a huge difference in my writing and though that may be hard for you to pick up on, perhaps as I share more of my writing from when I was younger, over time it will become more evident.Hope you enjoy this throwback poem, and if you do and want to see more old poetry let me know.:)

This Clock

This world is a clock.

It goes tick,

it murmurs tock.

What we are given 

is all that we got.

Soon it becomes

that who we were once

is so easily forgot.

As it rotates and turns

our old memories burn

— We wish away time

for a more elegant rthme

But who was the one

to play in the sun,

to live and to love,

to laugh and to cry,

to dance and to skip,

to jump and to run.

Throw in a coin,

wish on a star

but you get what you get:

You are who you are.

Wish away today.

Wish away tomorrow.

Wish away your life,

live for the sorrow.

You only live once

so live each moment

like it is your last

because you can’t go back

and what is past is past.

Can’t turn back the hands

of the wooden tick-tock,

just stuck in the winding of this clock.

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts with me below.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

