Posted in Poems, Uncategorized

the parking lot (1.16.17)

She pulls one out with her fire engine nails,

slowly bringing it to her lips,

she tilts her head to smirk at me

with her starry galaxy eyes.

She taps it against her lips for a moment

speaking enchantingly, ” We still have a long way to go,

Vegas is a day away.”

 

Dreams.

She takes a drag.

 

Then repeats the whole ritual

until it is gone.

 

They all are gone.

 

Then I fold up the box.

 

We speed out of the potholed parking lot,

the Marlboro box tossed out the window

lands on that manmade moon.

 

I can still see the salt on her upper lip.

“Vegas here we come.”

 

-Eva M.M.

-For once, with this poem, I actually came across a picture first that sparked a poem, which usually it is the reverse: I write something then search through my photo collection to find a picture to go with it. When I saw this photo I had this store stirring in my head and originally it felt like it might be more of an actual story, instead it felt like it wanted to be a poem and leave a lot of it mysterious.So it is more of a snapshot of this couple going to Vegas, which is more of a local, simple down to earth feel yet there are these almost atmospheric undertones, these big looming questions lingering in the air. When I wrote this I had a feel for something beyond the everyday. And of course, it is just an interesting image and props to the artists for thinking outside the box.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts in the comments below.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

