Posted in quote corner

Quote Corner: The rich.

3c0d28bc876caccd1c9fa30374b53ae1

I was thinking to myself today a lot about money.Right now I am at the stage in my college decisions where I wait to hear back from schools both about getting in and about financial aid. Just yesterday I got a letter from The University of Iowa for my financial aid package. I was overjoyed since getting in almost five months ago already, I have been waiting to hear about the money. Even though it is no longer at the top of my list I still was curious about how much financial aid they would grant me.I had no notions of how financial aid really works and I thought somehow everything was going to work out fine. I was severely disappointed to realise that out of the approximately $45,000 for one year I would need, I was only granted about $1,500 straight up, the rest would have to be in loans.Long story short, I had a lot of time to think about how  “poor” I am. 

I joke about that a lot actually, about being so “poor.” Of course, it isn’t true. Not in the sense that your parents say, we aren’t poor think of the people who are really poor in third world countries. No, I don’t even mean in that sense. I mean that I am not poor because I truly have people who love and care about me, friends, companions, family and a huge network of children I babysit for who remind me of what really matters.

” Some people are so poor all they have is money.”

Those of you who know me well, know that I really don’t give a crap about money except when it takes away my chance to go after something really monumental to me. Even then like with college, I know that somehow everything is going to work out fine. It is just in those short moments that I panic until my mind settles and with it, my whole being.

I think we often forget to realise that what makes a person rich has nothing to do with money or belongings. You can measure those things but I you can’t sit down and put a price on real living and real love, or a person for that matter. It is when things are so limitless, unbound in their value that you can’t count it that you know they are truly the things worth the most to you. These things are your most valuable jewels kept close to your heart, within its deepest chambers.These things are what make one truly rich.

A poor many all he has are bundles of money stacked around his house that slowly begin to suffocate him.

Me… I am truly rich.

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading. I hope these words remind you of what really matters.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “Quote Corner: The rich.

Leave a Reply

