Posted in life, The Yoga Diaries, thoughts

The Yoga Diaries: About Where it all started.

In this new series, I am going to tell you about my journey with yoga. Yoga is important to me not only because it is something good for your body but mostly because its ultimate goal is to free your mind. As a spiritualist, yoga in an integral part of my life and as I have grown in my own yoga experience and have begun bringing yoga to others, I want to share those stories with people. However, you don’t have to be a deeply spiritual person to do yoga nor do you need to be really flexible or balanced or strong. That is not the point of yoga. In fact, yoga is the very opposite of this, yoga is about creating unity and if you are already unified you can’t create unity. And yes, yoga is for everybody. Yoga is for women, men, youth, older, etc…etc… of course, your abilities will determine what poses you can and can’t do.For an example, if you are injured perhaps you can’t do all of the poses. Plus, we are all different and live different lives and view things differently. In short, different types of yoga, different instructors, different poses and different ways of experiencing the whole yoga world. I hope to show how some people have experienced different classes as well as my own experience with how I have experienced different yoga formats, poses, classes and instructors. basically, anything yoga related to my life, those around me or even just random yoga facts, will be presented to you in this series.

For my first post, I wanted to simply tell you about my very first time with yoga.My first experience with yoga was actually in the sixth grade.This was back when gym class was still a thing that I dreaded and loathed with all of my being.When it came time to choose if we would rather play hockey or do a yoga class, I simply chose the yoga, thinking it by far a better choice than hockey.I actually don’t remember a whole lot about it, other then we got syphoned off into a tiny classroom and had to try and stare at the television screen that showed us yoga moves while doing the moves at the same time. Let me just say that that is not very easy when you are in downward facing dog.I remember doing downward facing dog and that is about it, to be honest. However, paraphrasing something I wrote in my journal after one of the classes,  ” I feel so loosened and overjoyed like I could just get up a table and dance.” Minus my awkward way of putting it, I think you can see how yoga made me feel so much more open and free, even back when I would consider myself to have been a pretty mean, uptight, grumpy, closed off person.However, after the yoga unit was over, I never made any effort to look into yoga and try and do it on my own time. Not until the ninth grade would I do yoga again. I guess, in theory, I have been doing some yoga poses my entire life. I grew up learning ballet and Irish dancing so I have always been kind of flexible and I have always taken the time to stretch, but yoga is a lot more than doing yoga poses and simply stretching.

 Yoga Fact: “The yoga symbol “Om” is found in Hindu and Tibetan philosophy. It is said to be the primordial sound of the universe and is connected to the Ajna Chakra (the conscience) or “third eye” region.” 

I am going to leave you there for today with an introduction to this series and a glimpse of my first encounters with yoga. Next time I plan on talking about the ninth grade when I met yoga again.

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts below. I would especially like to hear about what type of yoga related things you might want to hear about. And/ or any yoga related questions./ What do you think of this new series in general?

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “The Yoga Diaries: About Where it all started.

Leave a Reply

