Posted in song anaylsis, thoughts, Uncategorized

Song Analysis ‘ Wrong Direction’ By: Passenger

 

Not only do I love the sound of Passenger’s music but also they have some of the truest statements and most relatable life reflections and their music has a very poetic quality to it. So, I really hope that you click the link below (in blue) and give this song a listen before or after reading some of my thoughts on this semi-jazzy toon about finding love in the modern world.

Passenger-Wrong Direction

When I was a kid the things I did were hidden under the grid
Young and naive I never believed that love could be so well hid
With regret I’m willing to bet and say the older you get
It gets harder to forgive and harder to forget
It gets under your shirt like a dagger at work
The first cut is the deepest but the rest still flipping hurt
You build your heart of plastic
Get cynical and sarcastic
And end up in the corner on your ownCause I’d love to feel love but I can’t stand the rejection
I hide behind my jokes as a form of protection
I thought I was close but under further inspection
It seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction oh no

 

Though these lyrics when read through are simple to understand I just wanted to share my own quick reflections on them. First, I have this sense that the older I have become it has become both easier and harder for me to forgive, as for forgetting it seems, in relation to the context of this song, I can no longer forget. I can relate so deeply to the idea that these little things will dig themselves into your skin and bore deeper and deeper and it hurts at first but eventually, it is so agonising you can’t take it anymore. While I feel I am a genuine person, I do see how I have also learned to hide behind my sarcasm sometimes when I am too afraid to put myself out there and then I look back and realise I am alone and left with nothing more than my words and sorrow. I think the hiding behind jokes part is very true for me too, not necessarily in the same way but I joke about being alone and it isn’t that those jokes aren’t sometimes actually funny but even when they are it is like I am concealing this layer of real a heart-wrenching loneliness. And then there is that moment when we all realise we have been going in the entirely wrong direction and everything we have been doing was in vain and our of fear and we try to pull ourselves together and finally go in the right direction.  

So what’s the point in getting your hopes up
When all you’re ever getting is choked up
When you’re coked up
And can’t remember the reason why you broke up
You call her in the morning
When you’re coming down and falling like an old man on the side of the road
Cause when you’re apart you don’t want to mingle
When you’re together you want to be single
Ever the chase to taste the kiss of bliss
That made your heart tingle
How much greener the grass is
With those rose tinted glasses
But the butterflies they flutter by and leave us on our arses

Skipping the first six lines, I want to focus on the last half. It is the rapid feeling of losing all that you love when these lines are sung that I love. This wanting to always have the things that you currently don’t have. To want to be single when in a relationship but wanting a relationship the moment you are single. In the end, we all just look like fools chasing after the things we think we want or think that we don’t need anymore.

Cause I’d love to feel love but I can’t stand the rejection
I hide behind my jokes as a form of protection
I thought I was close but under further inspection
It seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction
There’s fish in the sea for me to make a selection
I’d jump in if it wasn’t for my ear infection
Cause all I want to do is try to make a connection
It seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction oh

Oh I’d love to feel love but I can’t stand the rejection
I hide behind my jokes as a form of protection
I thought I was close but under further inspection
It seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction
I’d love to feel love but I can’t stand the rejection
I hide behind my jokes as a form of protection
I thought I was close but under further inspection
It seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction ohh
It seems like I’m running in the wrong direction ohh
Seems like I’m running in the wrong direction ohh
Well it seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction oh no
Seems I’ve been running in the wrong direction

And basically, all of the is a repetition from before. 

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading my thoughts on this song and sharing your own with me. I love seeing how others expierence music and feel about the message that it conveys.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

