Posted in life, Poems

–to my cousin–

The flamboyant eddy of the sky

vacuumed us into the dizziness of our youth:

Running through the cornfields,

laughing in the rain

and so naive, we spoke of the universe

as if it was far from us.

The pink and the purple,

the blush and the lavender,

bruises and scraped knees,

the flush of youth,

the embarrassment of our own ignorance.

 

I still think of who I was then

and who you were before

you learned who you were all along,

and I want to go back to the freedom,

the beauty of stretching ourselves out underneath the cotton candy clouds.

I want to know what is to be now?

Where do we go from here?

I am afraid,

that I will grow into a person I despise.

I was afraid

that  I grew into a person that you despised.

 

 

-Eva M.M.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “–to my cousin–

Leave a Reply

