Posted in life, Poems, thoughts

The human heart #1

Before I share this poem, which I actually wrote this past December,  I wanted to brief you on this project a little. The human heart series of poems that I plan to share the three versions of: one today and the other two within the foreseeable future, is really the same poem playing with the idea of sparsity. How can I still carry that same weight of meaning with my words but take some of the words out? It is meant that you read all three knowing the full version and seeing it become bare but also that as you read the more bare version you don’t try and bring up all the words from the other version but rather see what you can get out of it in and of itself.I hope that these three poems will interest you as much as they did for me writing them and that the emotion is truly felt because I wrote these when I was feeling very fragile.

The Human Heart #1

The human heart is a fragile thing

that lives and dies a harsh, bitter beat.

Born within, to build and to break,

at dawn to glow, at dusk to shake

–shatter and wither.

It echoes of love, fear and sorrow.

Full of life–full of loss,

the stitched seams snap apart.

It bleeds tears.

Gone.Vanished.He was nothing but a wisp of my dreams,

passing–passing from my hollow heart

to silence the silence of silence in his arms.

Stillness. Stillness. Still is my heart.

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts with me below.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

 

 

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

