Posted in Poems, thoughts

the looking glass ( 3.28.17)

Still as the moment,

I stand on the shore

watching the stillness,

water pulled into glass

and I look back at myself.

We only see what we want

to see

is to deceive,

to believe

that we are infinite finite beings.

I slowly trace circles against my wrists.

I muse    internally    and eternally

that nobody else seems to notice

the slow draining of life from our world,

that freedom is a bursting of arteries

and that we all question the power of compassion.

 

I am motionless

watching,

waiting for something to s h a t t e r the illusion

that I exist separate from existence.

 

I hear

the crinkling of crisp autumn leaves embracing the earth,

footsteps approaching.

I am not

                                                                                              alone.

All is tainted with the faint music of holding on to Now as it passes.

The gentle whisper of the trees, mother and child, soothing,

a conversation muffled by the sweet melody of weary birds.

 

The breeze raises tiny mountains on my arms,

the slight smile of sunlight upon frailty

and all labeled , existence.

 

I taste

the salt, the mineral flavor of red.

 

Foot follows foot.

I wave into the glass.

It taps against my ankles

cutting a lattice work of penetrating cold.

I watch the stillness shatter,

shards of light  breaking down light.

I no longer see myself in the disturbed surface.

I wade further in.

The water, saturating my clothes,

suctions me to the moment

and I know

we are all afraid

to go deeper

I desire,

dive beneath the blurred blackness.

I open myself to all it has to offer.

My eyes milky with the film of microscopic life.

My lungs burn.

I fall

and then

I exist

 

still.

 

-Eva M.M.

” Me and the pen, we are one. If its ink would cease to flow, my ink would cease to flow.”

Thank you as always for reading and sharing your thoughts with me in the comments below. If you are new to my blog and would like to know more feel free to ask me any questions. Have a wonderful day and thanks for stopping by.

 

Author:

I am currently a high school senior who writes and writes and writes in my spare time when I am not babysitting, working or spending time in a book.

2 thoughts on “the looking glass ( 3.28.17)

Leave a Reply

