Posted in life, philiosophy, thoughts

Stay focused but know when to be distracted.

Awhile back now I was still in the midst of the chaos and tension of high school life, work, and defining my realtionships. I had recently become friends with someone who we will just call C for this post. C and I had a few scattered but really intense and personal, deep conversations about life and healing in the face of pain rooted so far in us we were not sure if we even trusted the power of healing anymore.Though  I would never try to say that my situation was the same as his, I still felt like I understood the nature and sensations he was burdened with.That isn’t the point of this post though. The point is I was at a time in my life where I had a lot going on and yet admidsts all of that I never once told myself, ” Stay focused. Do not get distracted.” Do I regret that? No!

We tell ourselves that it is the most important thing to stay on track with our eyes on the prize. Stay alert! Stay focused! When you let yourself become distracted everything derails. I, however, in my earthquake wisdom , think that it is not about staying focused versus not staying focused in such black and white terms but rather about learning how to distinguish when to stay focused and when to let yourself be distracted. Of course, like most things in life, this is easier said than done.

I had already been thinking a lot about all of this when ironically the person that was ‘distracting me’ , C, posted something on social media about staying focused. Part of me might be posting this as some angry fireback at him but I still genuinely believe that in a world racing past us we need to know when to stop bolting around the track and halt, let ourselves be distracted.If we were never distracted we would miss many moments of beauty and opprotunities in our realtionships. That being said sometimes it really is best to stay focused.

I ask myself again it seems day after day, do I regret letting myself be distracted by C. Now,hurt because things did not pan out like they were supposed to and what could have bloomed into a beautiful and fruitful friendship melted away with the snow this spring, I want to say no. I want to say I regret it all and you all should just walk past anything that may hurt you because it will peel you away from the goals you have before you. I’m not that bitter though and I know in the end I would end up a lot more hurt, missing many great and yes some not so great and painful things that life has to offer.

If there is still hope to cleanse a heart from pain rooted so deeply one questions the power of healing then is it by knowing what to let yourself be distracted by instead of the wrong things?

-Eva M.M.

Thank you for reading and stopping by.

What do you think about being focused versus distractions?

Author:

I am a young and enthusiastic writer, fresh out of highschool and into college at IUSB. I babysit and work and live life to it's fullest. I write. I read. I do yoga. And plan to become. Yoga intructers as well. I grew up on a farm and can't,t wait to move back to the country in my tiny house I have already planned out. Sometimes I'm a little melodramatic but rarely. I'm a spiritual healer, a hopeless romantic, a book worm, and very nostalgic. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

